Lake County Spelling Bee Champions

March 22, 2012


The Lake County Junior High Spelling Bee (grades 7-8) was held at Upper Lake Middle School on Tuesday, March 13, 2012.  “Super Spellers” who participated in the competition include: Angelina Acosta, Burns Valley School; Kristen Celli, Burns Valley School; Asia Firebaugh, Middletown Middle School; Paul Johnson, East Lake School; Elisa Kim, Middletown Middle School; Mackenzie Law, Lower Lake Elementary; Roberto Lozano, Mt Vista Middle School; Wroehnyn Milks, Lucerne Elementary; Kaylee O’Bryant, Upper Lake Middle School; Jessia Osborne, Pomo School; Sam Price, East Lake School; Giovanni Sanchez, Terrace School; Zach Sneathen, Upper Lake Middle School; Noelani Urquiza, Terrace School, Weeden Wetmore, Lower Lake Elementary; and Kaylie Williams, Mt Vista Middle School. Burns Valley School student, Charlie Burke, also qualified but was unable to participate in the competition.

Lake County Office of Education is pleased to announce that three students will represent the county at this year’s California State Junior High Spelling Championship in San Rafael on Saturday, May 12. 

A very special “thank you” goes to Principal Tony Loumena and the staff at Upper Lake Middle School for hosting the Spelling Bee.


 Thank you to  Principal Jill Falconer and staff at Terrace School in Lakeport for hosting the Lake County Elementary Spelling Beeon Tuesday, March 20, 2012.  In a heated competition between  Lake County elementary students (grades 4-6), the top two champions were Daymion Martinez, a 5thgrader at Lucerne Elementary; and Tyler Parrott, a 6thgrade student from Cobb Mountain Elementary.  Both Daymion and Tyler will compete in the 2012 California State Elementary School Spelling Championship on April 21, at the San Joaquin County Office of Education in Stockton, CA.

Spelling champs who also participated in the competition are:  Sarah Alvior, Burns Valley; Rayven Baldwin-Riggs, East Lake; Hannah Barnett, Kelseyville Elementary; Meaghan Boykin, Terrace School; Allison Bryant, Kelseyville Elementary; Michael Comacho, Terrace; Allessandra Diaz, Coyote Valley Elementary; Helena Dougan, Lake County International Charter School; Reanne Egger, Minnie Cannon Elementary; Jason Gentle, Mt Vista Middle School; Blair Hayes, Upper Lake Elementary; Vanessa Hughes, East Lake; Cheyenne Justice, Coyote Valley; Sean MacDonell, Lake Co. International Charter; Rachel Mavy, Pomo School; Aiden McAdon, Mt Vista Middle School; Aleia Milano, Lower Lake Elementary; Leila Perez, Riviera Elementary; Tristin Tapia, Pomo School; Sara Vierra, Minnie Cannon; Lyndsay Wade, Upper Lake Elementary; Kaila Willard, Lucerne Elementary; and Madison Witt, Riviera Elementary.

Students who qualified but were unable to participate in the competition include: Maria Salazar, Lower Lake Elementary; Savannah Vanmeter, Burns Valley School; and Chloe Ziegler, Cobb Elementary.


Spelling Champions Daymion Martinez, Tyler Parrott, Noelani Urquiza, Asia Firebaugh and Jessia Osborne were each awarded a $25 gift certificate to Barnes & Noble.


The annual spelling competitions are coordinated by the Lake County Office of Education. Master of Ceremonies/Spell Master for both of the Spelling Bees was Stephanie Wayment, Education Specialist at Lake County Office of Education.  The judges for the competition were Robin Totorica, Jan Bailey, Tracy Skeen and Tim Gill, also from LCOE. 


Scroll down to view photos of all the Lake County Spelling Bee Champions!


Elementary Spelling Bee Champions:

Daymion Martinez, Lucerne Elementary

Tyler Parrott, Cobb Mountain Elementary. 


Junior High Spelling Bee Champion,

Asia Firebaugh, Middletown Middle School



Junior High Spelling Bee Champion,

Jessia Osborne, Pomo School (Clearlake);


Junior High Spelling Bee Champion,

Noelani Urquiza, Terrace School (Lakeport)


< Back to News Archive